cuba > cuba destinations >sancti spiritus province > trinidad > trinidad casas > casa el tulipan > reviews 2015

Cuba Junky Home

Cuba Casa Directory App - Cuba-Junky Cuba Casa Directory App - Android Google Play

Booking.com  

Reviews 2015 Casa El Tulipan | Trinidad

Support the Cuban Locals

By buying the Cuba Casa Directory app for Android and IOS.

The Cuba Casa Directory is THE "Yellow Pages" for casas particulares in Cuba!
All information including casa particular email addresses.

Casa Particular Directory

Casa Particular Directory App - Android Google Play


WRITE A REVIEW

Casa El Tulipan 2015


Dec 15 2015
Name: Ross & Helen
Country: UK
I stayed here at: 11/09/2015
I made a reservation at the casa directly through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Casa El Tulipan is a fantastic place to stay!!! We spent 4 nights in Trinidad and loved every minute of it! Both Bernardo and Margo were fantastic hosts and made my wife and I feel so welcome………….nothing was ever too much trouble and they were so helpful! As others have noted, the casa is in a great location near to the town centre and having the roof terrace it is fantastic, giving you space to relax and watch the hustle and bustle of Trinidad unfold in front of you! The breakfasts were amazing and a real treat…………thank you again Margo & Bernardo…….we miss you both (& Rambi)!!!!!
How was your room?: Very comfortable, clean and a good shower………….outside terrace is a massive bonus, especially if staying for a longer period (we had 4 nights).
How was the food they offer?: Breakfasts were an absolute treat!!!!!


Dec 6 2015
Name: JoAnn Dunderdale
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 11/27/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky's Casa App
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Wonderful hosts, Marga and Bernardo were very welcoming and helpful. Lovely apartment with a beautiful terrace. Good location,close to old town and restaurants. Breakfasts were very good with a variety of fresh fruits, juice, yogurt, eggs, cheese, ham and breads. Very tasty!
How was your room?: Comfortable bed and nice ensuite bathroom
How was the food they offer?: Great breakfasts
Other services they offer: Helpful in making dinner reservations and arranging taxi
Other comments: We will definitely recommend this Casa to friends


Dec 1 2015
Name: Kate Robarts
Country: United Kingdom
I stayed here at: 11/05/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 30 CUC per night

Casa el Tulipan

My review: Mara and Bernardo were great hosts - flexible when we changed our dates a bit and always there to help us to book taxis, rang ahead to confirm with restaurants, arranged for biketaxis to and from the bus station and even sorted out some horseriding up to the waterfall on a day when we weren't sure what to do. Casa El Tulipan is about a 10 minute walk to the main square, but Trinidad is not a big place so this is no problem - it feels very central. Most of all, the terrace is one story up, completely private but a beautiful spot for watching people go past on the street below whilst sipping a beer in the rocking chairs or hammock! We could have spent ages here. Thank you to Mara and Bernardo for caring for us so well :)
How was your room?: Spacious, comfortable, lots of fans. It even has a kitchen area and sitting room area attached to the bedroom. Nicely decorated and very homely.
How was the food they offer?: Delicious breakfasts - more than you get in some casas. They gave us eggs, bread, fruit, ham, cheese, cake, yoghurt, coffee, juice...
Other services they offer: They are happy to book you restaurants or trips and recommend places to visit.


Nov 23 2015
Name: Dat Nguyen
Country: Australia
I stayed here at: 10/28/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky's Casa App
I paid 35 CUC per night

CASA EL TULIPAN, Trindad

My review: Marga and Bernando was so accomodating, Marga's English was great. The hospitality received was extremely five star. I stayed there on my own, it was closed to the town square . Virtually a 8 to 10 min walk to the town square. The room was big and comfortable, with a additional room at the front for relaxation. Highly recommended you won't be disppointed , I will definitely be staying there again when I return. Thank you Marga and Bernardo for making my trip to Trinidad so memorable.
How was your room?: The room was great due to the fact it is your own apartment , had a functional kitchenette , which I did not used due to only being there for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable.
How was the food they offer?: Being on my own when it was originally booked for my wife and I . Marga went beyond her expectations and provided me free breakfast due to the fact I had a sore tummy and due to limited funds and other circumstances. Marga even packed me a takeaway jamon quesa sandwich for the road.
Other services they offer: Both Host went above and beyond their requirement, discounted the some services such as free drinks and breakfast due to the fact that I had originally booked for two people, but ended up just being myself. Did a total orientation of apartment and it's services, kept being available on call if I needed further help. I have stayed in my five star hotels, for what was available I felt I was provided with five star service. Would of enjoyed it more if I was with my partner and stayed a bit longer, overall highly recommend .
Other comments: Had a kitchen which was fantastic if you like to cook. Overall great host, location and services.


Nov 23 2015
Name: Ingrid & Rory
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 10/31/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky's Casa App
I paid 35 CUC and 5 CUC for the breakfast (which was good;))

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Casa El Tulipan; the name is already fantastic for a Dutch couple like us.
Friends of us already stayed at this casa and told us how great it is, therefore we had no doubts and booked immediately for two nights.

Trindidad is the real Cuba, we enjoyed sitting at the kingsize roofterrace where you can experience the atmosphere from the street down below. Horses with carriges, el pan sales men and children going to school, all the ingredients are there.

When we arrived in Trinidad (by Viazul) Marga arranged a taxi for us to pick us up. The bicycle taxi ride was quite bumpy but took arround 10 minutes to arrive at the casa. At the casa we where welcomed by Bernardo and Marga after they gave us a tour around the appartment.
The casa is fantastic, really comfy bed, nice shower and bathroom, kitchen with a nice filled refrigirator and off course the rooftop terrace. In the morning we received a nice (large for us) breakfast with bread, tomatoes, cheese, meat, eggs, etc.....

One day we visited playa Ancon where Marga arranged a taxi for us to go to. They also had some good tips to what restaurant to visit in Trinidad.
We also took some (quite intensive) salsa lessons which we really enjoyed (arranged by Bernardo).

We would totaly advice this casa to you!!!!
How was your room?: Very nice, spacious, complete and clean.


Oct 19 2015
Name: Gretchen
Country: United States
I stayed here at: 09/27/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa Tulipan

My review: This is a fantastic option for travelers wishing to spend a longer time in Trinidad. The extra privacy and space offered by the 2nd-story apartment at Casa Tulipan made for a very comfortable 5-night stay. The kitchen that Bernardo and Marga have set up in the apartment is equipped with everything you need to cook a pasta dinner at home if you're looking to stay in one night, and they do indeed prepare a fabulous breakfast. As others have mentioned, the house is located in a central location which makes it very easy to walk to most the bars,restaurants, and shops. The location also makes for great people watching. If you like to sleep in, I'd recommend bringing some earplugs because the morning traffic can get pretty noisy.

Bernardo and Marga and very welcoming and always smiling. Really wonderful people to get to know. They also have a lot of local experience. Ask them for help setting up a tour or dinner reservation and you'll surely be connected with the best of the best.


Aug 2 2015
Name: Elke Van den Bulck
Country: België
I stayed here at: 07/11/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Dit was absoluut de BESTE CASA van heel Cuba.
Mara en Bernardo zijn 2 ongelooflijk warme mensen en ontvingen ons met open armen. We voelden ons er meteen welkom!
Het gastenverblijf is een appartement met een dubbelbed en een éénpersoonsbed, een gerieflijke keuken en een aangename badkamer. Het appartement heeft een erg groot dakterras waar het heerlijk vertoeven is. Een hangmat, een gezellige tafel, een hoekje om te lezen met een prachtig uitzicht. Ideaal om het échte leven van Trinidad te observeren.
Het ontbijt was absoluut het beste ontbijt van onze reis. De cake en de tomaten met pesto van Mara zijn ongelooflijk lekker. Het is niet mogelijk om in deze casa te dineren, maar Mara en Bernardo hebben veel tips voor lokale restaurantjes.
Mara en Bernardo stonden ons ook altijd met de glimlach te woord. Ze regelden voor ons met veel plezier enkele excursies en taxi's.
We hebben enorm genoten van dit verblijf en kunnen het echt aan iedereen aanraden. Iets duurder als gemiddeld, maar het is het absoluut waard!
Als we de kans krijgen om ooit opnieuw naar Trinidad te gaan, kiezen we zonder twijfel opnieuw voor deze casa!

This was absolutely THE BEST CASA of Cuba. Mara and Bernardo are 2 extremely warm people and received us with open arms. We felt immediately welcome! The guesthouse is an apartment with a double bed and a single bed, a comfortable kitchen and a very clean bathroom. The apartment has a very large roof terrace with a hammock, a cosy table and a corner to read. A great view, ideal to observe the real life of Trinidad. The breakfast was absolutely the best breakfast of our trip. The cake and the tomatoes with pesto of Mara are incredibly tasty. It is not possible to dinner here, but Mara and Bernardo have many tips for local restaurants. Mara and Bernardo also arranged a lot of nice excursions for us. They were always very helpful!
We really enjoyed this stay and can really recommend it to anyone. Slightly more expensive than the average, but it's definitely worth it! If we get the chance to go to Trinidad ever again, we choose without a doubt again for this casa!
How was your room?: Absolutely perfect, the best of whole Cuba!
How was the food they offer?: Excellent breakfast


Aug 2 2015
Name: Sarah Coox
Country: Belgium
I stayed here at: 07/11/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky

Casa el Tulipan

My review: Highly recommended! Beautiful casa near the city center. It's a little more expensive than what you would pay for an average casa in Trinidad, but more than worth it because this casa is anything but average. You're staying in an independent apartment with beautiful rooftop terrace overlooking the city and the mountains. The apartment is spacious, well equipped and airconditioned. Everything is very clean. The shower runs with hot and cold water and a decent flow. Breakfast is delicious, they don't serve dinner but Trinidad is host to many wonderful restaurants. The hosts are two of the most warm and welcoming people you'll encounter and they are more than happy to give you all the help and information you need. And very conveniently, they speak several languages besides Spanish, including English, French, Dutch and Russian.


July 27 2015
Name: Jeroen Basten
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 06/30/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Last July we stayed at Casa El Tulipan. The casa is a few minutes walk from the center. From the Viazul you are in about 10 minutes at the casa with a pedicab.

Upon arrival we were greeted very kindly by the owners, Marga and Bernardo. We were immediately explain what all is to do in and around Trinidad. Also a nice fat cigar belongs to the welcome package.

The apartment is on the first floor. Bernardo, the (heavy) bags up for you! Up there you stand in a very nice roof terrace (with roof) with table, chairs, bench, rocking chairs and even a hammock. On the rooftop you get served in the morning a delicious full breakfast including coffee, tea, juice, bread, egg, tasty cheese, collars spiced tomatoes. From the roof you can experience the real Cuban life. Sit back in a rocking chair or lie in the hammock and enjoy!

In fine apartment is a kitchen, fridge (water, beer and even wine!), Some fans, air conditioning, sofa and a private bathroom. Also handy that there is enough storage space to store your clothes.

Since we stayed three weeks in Cuba, it was also handy that Marga fee can even do some laundry.

From the Casa you can explore the beautiful center. We also have a beautiful horse ride by the valley. Via a stop in the valley in a nice farm, you eventually come to a beautiful waterfall where you can swim. Also we have been a day at the beach with the typical Coco taxi. Furthermore, if the salsa lessons are not missing.

Conclusion: Casa El Tulipan is a very nice place to stay where you will be well cared for by the owners!


July 4 2015
Name: Cassandra
Country: Colombia
I stayed here at: 06/26/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night for the apartment per night plus 5 CUC per person for breakfast

Casa El Tulipan

My review: We loved staying at Casa El Tulipan. Marta and Bernardo were welcoming hosts who provided good restaurant recommendations and were happy to help with advice and plans for exploring the area. Breakfasts were excellent.
By far the best part of the apartment is the terrace! It's a lovely space to relax, well-shaded, and a nice place to people-watch from above.
The apartment is a comfortable and private spot for 2 or 3 people (we were 3). There's a double bed in one room, a single bed that also serves as a couch in the next room, and a small kitchen with stocked mini-bar. There's an A/C unit and fans which kept the apartment nice and cool at night and drowned out most of the outside noise. We slept well and comfortably each night. The bathroom is small but functional, and the hot water works well. There's a separate entrance for the apartment as well.
Location was fine - it was a 5-10 minute walk to Plaza Mayor or Parque Cespedes.
How was your room?: Comfortable, private, and functional.
How was the food they offer?: Breakfasts were very good. They do not offer lunch or dinner but are happy to make reservations at recommended restaurants that you won't find in tourist guidebooks.
Other services they offer: Mini-bar and laundry.


June 30 2015
Name: Brian
Country: Ireland
I stayed here at: 06/18/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night

CASA EL TULIPAN

My review: We had a fantastic 3 days stay in the upper terrace of this Casa. The private upper terrace consists of a bedroom, dining area, kitchen area and a really nice outdoor terrace (hammock, breakfast table & relaxing chairs). Really relaxing to take a break from touring and to sit in the shade and read a book / watch the traffic pass by. Bernardo and Mara were excellent hosts who served up a really nice breakfast and were very helpful with the recommendations on what to do
How was the food they offer?: Lovely breakfast


Casa El Tulipan | Trinidad | Cuba May 18 2015
Name: fam van sloten
Country: netherlands
I stayed here at: 05/01/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: I stayed in this casa with my 2 sons. It is a very cute apartment with a lovely and large terrace. The breakfast is very complete and outstanding compared to Cuban standards. We would definitely come here again with a next stay!

 

How was your room?: very good

Casa El Tulipan | Trinidad | Cuba 

How was the food they offer?: breakfast is excellent

Other services they offer: personal talk and tips...

Casa El Tulipan | Trinidad | Cuba 


April 30 2015
Name: Lianne
Country: United Kingdom
I stayed here at: 04/07/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Marga & Bernardo was fantastic hosts and accommodated every needs. Upon our arrival, we were presented huge smiles and Cuban cigars which was a nice touch!

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this Casa and loved the apartment with a rooftop veranda to relax. The beds were comfortable and lovely breakfast on the veranda.

We hired 2 bikes from them for 4 pesos for the whole day.

My only regret is we didn't stay long enough!


April 7 2015
Name: Maddy Love
Country: Australia
I stayed here at: 03/18/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Our experience staying with Marga and Bernado at Casa El Tulipan was perfect. The place is absolutely gorgeous - your own top left two bedroom apartment with a huge private terrace overlooking the city. The breakfasts (served on the terrace) were like nothing else we had in Cuba. Tomato with homemade basil pesto, fresh cheese and cured meats, fruit, coffee, and local custard flan which we are still dreaming about. Marga and Bernado are so warm and friendly, we felt at home. The place is an easy stroll to the main square too. Highly recommend, but book fast!


March 24 2015
Name: Sally and Chris
Country: UK
I stayed here at: 02/03/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Casa El Tulipan was great. It was very nice to have our own little apartment with spacious outdoor terrace, where the optional breakfast, which was lovely, was served. The casa was within easy walking distance of all the attractions of Trinidad. We stayed three nights and found the hosts were very friendly and helpful. Recommended!


Casa El Tulipan | Trinidad | Cuba Feb 24 2015
Name: Bas & Wendy
Country: Holland
I stayed here at: 02/16/2015
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night


Casa El Tulipan Trinidad

My review: Sometimes you just love to make time to write a review. El Tulipan definately earns a good one... and also a number one position of accommodations in Trinidad!

Marga & Bernardo are such warm, sweet people! They help you with everything and know the area and good things to do so well! Whenever you visit Trinidad, visit them. They can book you the 'Elvis' horse-tour (beautiful and with good stops) and make sure you have a meal at the fishrestaurant at Casilda!!! But of course they have plenty of tips more. Make sure you go here at least for three nights, you won't regret.

Casa El Tulipan | Trinidad | Cuba You can book the private apartment at the second floor (only one accommodation, so be quick with your reservation) at eltulipan511@yahoo.com or by cubajunky.com (also available as app).

Marga y Bernardo, muchas gracias for your hospitality, warmth and fantastic memories! When we think of Cuba, we think of Trinidad, because of you!

How was your room?: The room is very comfortable and clean. Including

How was the food they offer?: The casa offers breakfast, very good and various!

Other services they offer: They offer good tips for things to do, places of interest, tours and restaurants.

Other comments: The rooftopterrace is just perfect!


Feb 16 2015
Name: Elaine
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 02/08/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night


Casa El Tulipan

My review: We stayed at Casa El Tulipan for four nights while visiting Trinidad. By far the nicest casa we stayed at throughout our 2 week stay in Cuba. Marga and Bernardo were wonderful hosts, very friendly and went out of their way to ensure our trip was fun and relaxing. They helped us find the best restaurants in Trinidad and they offer a lot of information (map, information about the city) in the casa, so it's easy to find things. When we needed to leave for the Varadero airport in the middle of the night, Marga and Bernardo went out of their way to help us find a driver who would take us. They even waited up until 2 am with us to ensure that we left safely and on time. If we go back to Trinidad, we will definitely stay here again and will both be recommending the casa to friends. A really unique experience, much more pleasant than our other casa experiences. The casa really added to our overall experience of Trinidad.

How was your room?: Room is beautiful, terrace was great for breakfast and late night drinks. The room itself is separated into bath, bed and living area, so there's plenty of space and the couch in the sitting area would actually work as a bed. Very clean as well.

How was the food they offer?: We had breakfast most days. Breakfast was very good, lots of food and very tasty.

Other services they offer: Like I said, Marga and Bernardo were very helpful and went out of their way to help with any questions we had.


Jan 16 2015
Name: Sarah
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 01/02/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night


Casa El Tulipan

My review: Fabulous space and fabulous hosts. Both Marga and Bernardo are extremely helpful and kind.
How was your room?: Great. Clean. The Casa is located on a busier street so if you're a light sleeper you might want earplugs. The rooftop patio is private and beautiful.

How was the food they offer?: Good

Other services they offer: Advice, insights into the culture. Took us to the bank when the bank machine "ate" our credit cards!

Other comments: Will certainly stay here again if we return to Trinidad.


 

 

CASAS IN CUBA

Havana Province

- Havana city (overview of city areas)

Habana Vieja (Old Havana)

Centro Havana

Havana Vedado

Havana Miramar and Havana Playa

Havana Beach

Havana Other areas

Matanzas Province

Matanzas city

Varadero

Cardenas

Playa Larga

Santa Maria

Boca de Camarioca

Colon

Pinar del Rio Province

Pinar del Rio city

Vinales

Bahia Honda

Candelaria

Soroa

Puerto Esperanza

Santa Lucia

La Palma

Cienfuegos Province

Cienfuegos city

Sancti Spiritus Province

Sancti Spiritus city

Trinidad

La Boca

Casilda

Villa Clara Province

Santa Clara

Remedios

Camaguey Province

Camaguey city

Florida

Guaimaro

Santa Lucia

Las Tunas Province

Las Tunas city

Puerto Padre

Ciego de Avila Province

Ciego de Avila city

Moron

Santiago de Cuba Province

Santiago de Cuba city

Holguin Province

Holguin city

Holguin beach

Mayari

Granma Province

Bayamo

Manzanillo

Marea del Portillo

Pilon

Guantanamo Province

Baracoa

Guantanamo city

 

 

 

Cuba destinations Cuba casas particulares
Cuba flights Cuba car rental

 

Cuba Junky Zazzle Store
Cuba Casa Directory app
Cuba Casa Directory for Android Cuba Casa Directory for IOS

 

Cuba-Junky Facebook Cuba-Junky Twitter Cuba-Junky Pinterest

 

About Cuba Junky Write a review
Add a casa particular Havana Journal

 

 

©Cuba-Junky | KvK / CC The Hague The Netherlands: 27315058