cuba > cuba destinations >sancti spiritus province > trinidad > trinidad casas > casa el tulipan > reviews 2016

Cuba Junky Home

Cuba Casa Directory app

 

Reviews 2016 Casa El Tulipan | Trinidad

Support the Cuban Locals

By buying the Cuba Casa Directory app for Android and IOS.

The Cuba Casa Directory is THE "Yellow Pages" for casas particulares in Cuba!
All information including casa particular email addresses.

Cuba Casa Directory app


WRITE A REVIEW

Casa El Tulipan 2016


 

Dec 29 2016
Name: Charlotte Van den Bergh
Country: Belgium
I stayed here at: 12/21/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Casa El Tulipan was één van onze beste casa's tijdens ons verblijf in Cuba! Een casa met alles op en aan met de liefste eigenaars Bernardo en Marga. We kregen het beste ontbijt en super leuke tips om onze reis nog leuker te maken. Het terras was ideaal om 's avonds gezellig buiten te zitten. Ideale ligging om de stad te verkennen. Juist oordopjes meenemen tegen de 'stille' cubanen op straat en de 'stille' oldtimers die voorbij rijden :)
Dank u Bernardo en Marga om ons een leuk verblijf te geven in Trinidad :)
groetjes,
Charlotte, Andy en Jeroen uit België

The best casa ever in Cuba! You must go there ;)


Dec 19 2016
Name: Tom & Corriëlle
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 11/15/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan, Trinidad

My review: El Tulipan is a very nice, central-located casa in Trinidad. Very cosy and you have your own terrace with hammock where you can enjoy the tasty breakfast or a cerveza! The hospitality of Marga and Bernardo was amazing. They can give you a lot of information about Trinidad and Cuba (in English, Dutch, Cuban), arrange you bicycles, reservations etc, and are always in for a little chat. They are very hospitable and friendly (Marga even made us a sandwich for our bus-trip in the early morning, very sweet!). So don’t hesitate, just book, you’ll love it!

P.S. You might wanna bring your earplugs for the noise coming from the streets (you will need them anyway for the cocks in the whole country…)


Dec 19 2016
Name: Suzanne and Andries
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 11/26/2016
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: This is absolutely one of the best casa's of Cuba! The owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome, they even offered a pick-up service by bicitaxi upon our arrival in Trinidad. They have one little appartment above their own house, which includes a nice private roof terrace, a little kitchen, a sitting area and a seperate sleeping area. Everthing is beautifully decorated and breakfast is served on your own terrace. I would absolutely recommend this casa for your stay in Trinidad!
Margot and Bernado, thanks again for your hospitality!

How was your room?: Just perfect: nicely decorated and it is convenient to have a little kitchen and sitting area, including television and several games to play. The room was clean as well.
How was the food they offer?: Only breakfast is served, which is one of the best we had in Cuba. We liked to marinated tomatoes!
Other services they offer: The owners can arrange (bici)taxi's and offer a lot of helpful information to discover Trinidad and its surroundings.
Other comments: Don't hesitate and just book! :)


Dec 17 2016
Name: Isabel Edwards
Country: United Kingdom
I stayed here at: 02/12/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: We stayed for two nights with the lovely Mara and Bernardo at Casa El Tulipan and only wish that we could have stayed longer! The Casa is the perfect place to stay in Trinidad with everything the city has to offer on your doorstep, Mara and Bernado are full of knowledge of the area and can easily arrange any trips that you might want to do. The Casa itself is one of the best that we stayed at in the whole of Cuba, there is a lovely roof terrace and the bedroom is spacious with an attached kitchen/living room - it feels very private and you really have your own space. The breakfast put on by Mara and Bernardo was delicious - we particularly loved the cake!! Overall we loved our stay at El Tulipan, it is a lovely Casa and Mara and Berardo made our trip perfect, they are so friendly and helpful and it was great to talk with them and hear their Cuban stories. The small touch of a Cuban doll and Cuban cigars was real added bonus and made us feel incredibly welcomed into their home.
How was your room?: The room was perfect, very clean and spacious
How was the food they offer?: Breakfast was delicious! Served on the beautiful, colourful patio where you could take in the Trinidad atmosphere the breakfast was one of the best in Cuba - lots of delicious fruit, omlette, hot coffee and my favourite - the cake!
Other services they offer: Lots of different excursions in the surrounding area, we did Salsa dancing lessons and rented bikes to go to the beach.


Dec 6 2016
Name: Hina
Country: United Kingdom
I stayed here at: 10/16/2016
I paid 35 CUC per night and 5CUC per person for breakfast each morning.
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky

Casa El Tulipan

My review: We're a group of 3 adults, we visited Cuba for the first time and staying in casas was a brand new experience - Casa El Tulipan was one of my favourite places to stay! The location is perfect, all the main spots in Trinidad are walking distance and the gorgeous beach is a quick taxi ride away. The casa is beautifully decorated, and the owners Marga and Bernardo are incredibly friendly and helpful. There is a separate side entrance to the top floor which is convenient.
How was your room?: The room was perfect for the 3 of us (one double bed and one sofa bed), air conditioned, very clean, a small kitchen if you wanted to use it, stocked with bottled water to purchase. The terrace has a hammock and a view of the busy streets of Trinidad, a lovely location to enjoy breakfast.
How was the food they offer?: They catered really well for both vegetarian and non vegetarian diets - lots of fruits, breads, yogurts, tea, coffee and juices. They served sliced tomatoes with cheese/pesto which were delicious!
Other services they offer: Marga speaks English very well and gave us lots of tips and recommendations to help us make the most of our stay and helped answer all our queries, gave restaurant suggestions and spent time talking to us about life in Cuba. She also ordered a box of quality cigars on our behalf, and helped us arrange a surprise birthday cake for one of our friends in the group, along with champagne!
Other comments: Very friendly and helpful hosts, the room is so clean and spacious - highly recommended!


Nov 16 2016
Name: Veronica
Country: Norway
I stayed here at: 10/24/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night and 5 cuc per breakfast (per person)

Casa El Tulipan

My review: We are so amazed by this fantastic place! The location couldn't be better, and the price is well worth the money! You are just a step away from all what Trinidad has to offer, everything in walking distanse, and off course the great and lovely owners - Marga & Bernardo. They are so pleasurable and easy to talk with, no worries or no stress :) With their recommendations you get to see and experiense the real Cuba/Trinidad. We went horseriding -which was a perfect daytrip, not to long for inexperienced rider like us. And don't forget the beach!!!! It's fantastic!!!! You get there in 5 min. by taxi or bus. Remember earplugs, there may be some noise from traffic, but it's just charming :)
How was your room?: Nice and clean, and with AC, tv and a small kitchen.
How was the food they offer?: The breakfast was perfect, and the location was on our own terrace, where we could enjoy the food and listen to the town waking up.
Other services they offer: Laundry service, booking trips in Trinidad, booking long distance taxi (and short distance), They have recommendations of restaurants and can help you book a table. Marga speaks good english and they know about a lot of activities.
Other comments: If you want to stay in a casa in Trinidad, this is the one. You will not regret it.


Nov 16 2016
Name: Marylyn
Country: Australia
I stayed here at: 12/21/2015
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky

Casa El Tulipan

My review: My friend and I absolutely loved our stay at Casa El Tulipan. We were lucky enough to be able to visit Cuba for 6 weeks and we stayed only in casas, so we really got a good idea of what that's like. All of them are great because they are all so different but CASA El TULIPAN IS THE BEST.
It is a comfortable, spacious, completely separate apartment with its own kitchen and a great patio that looks down on the street and crossroad below. We both delighted in watching, witnessing and absorbing the local culture from early morning until late into the evening. It was truly fascinating to have such a vantage point.
BUT THE BEST THING ABOUT THE BEST CASA ARE THE HOSTS. Mara y Bernardo Gonzalez are just delightful, hospitable, welcoming, generous people. We had never met before and yet it was as if we had always been longterm friends. They were genuinely interested in us and showed care and concern for our wellbeing.
They invited us to join their Christmas Eve celebration with their friends and we had the best time.
How was your room?: The room was great. My friend had the double bedroom and I slept very comfortably on the single bed/couch in the living area. It was really obvious to us that a lot of thought, consideration and love has gone into making El Tulipan a comfortable and joyful place to stay.
How was the food they offer?: Breakfasts were a treat with delicious fruits, omelettes, and excellent coffee.
Other services they offer: Mara y Bernardo offered us valuable information, local knowledge, excellent conversations, in depth discussions, and heaps and heaps of fun and laughter.
Other comments: Don't hesitate to stay at this wonderful casa.


Nov 16 2016
Name: Amy
Country: New Zealand
I stayed here at: 09/06/2016
I made a reservatin at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Mara and Bernardo are wonderful hosts. They are absolutely lovely and make you feel at home straight away. We loved our stay with them. They are also very knowledgeable on where to eat and what to within and around Trinidad.
How was your room?: It is actually a self contained apartment on the top floor of Mara and Bernardo's casa. There is a bedroom, a living room with a kitchenette and a bathroom with shower and toilet. You also have the option of your own private entrance. The best part is it has a lovely big deck that is perfect for relaxing and offers a great view down one of the main roads in Trinidad.
How was the food they offer?: We had breakfast one of the days we were there and it was nice and plentiful. One of the best things was the mini fridge in the kitchenette that was always stocked with beer, wine, soft drink and water. We used it all the time.
Other services they offer: Mara also kindly organised us a taxi to Vinales at the end of our stay. There is also a laundry service which was super useful. Also, when we decided to go to dinner at a restaurant in town we were given vouchers for a free cocktail which is always good.
Other comments: We really enjoyed our stay here and also loved the cigars that we were given as a gift on arrival, what a nice touch. Would definitely recommend this casa.


Nov 2 2016
Name: Dagmar
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 10/08/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC and Breakfast 5 CUC per person.

Casa el Tulipan

My review: When you are looking for the real Cuban life, don't look any further!We stayed for 3 nights with Marga and Bernardo and this was to short! Trinidad offers a lot for tourists and Marga & Bernardo can tell you all about it.
How was your room?: Our room was large, clean and offers a nice terrace with a beautiful view on Trinidad.
How was the food they offer?: Every morning we enjoyed a nice and fresh breakfast on our private terrace.
Other services they offer: Bernado en Marga can offer you a lot of information and details about Trinidad and it's surroundings. The can arrange reservations at restaurants, order taxi's or horse riding trips.


Nov 2 2016
Name: Rohan
Country: United Kingdom
I stayed here at: 09/28/2016
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night & 5 CUC per breakfast

Casa El Tulipan

My review: My partner and I loved staying in Casa El Tulipan. Mara & Bernardo were excellent hosts.
How was your room?: We had the whole top floor of their house - this included a bedroom, living room, kitchen and outside terrace, which was beautiful.
How was the food they offer?: The breakfasts were amazing, and very filling! They also have recommendations for good restaurants and bars around the town.
Other services they offer: There was opportunities for salsa dancing, horse riding, spanish classes, but we were not in Trinidad long enough to arrange any of these.
They also were able to arrange a carshare for us back to Habana for us to get to the airport.


Sept 18 2016
Name: Isobel
Country: UK
I stayed here at: 08/31/2016
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky's Casa App
I paid 35 CUC, + breakfast at 5 CUC

Casa El Tulipan

My review: All the casas paticulares we stayed in in Cuba were clean and pleasant but this tulip-themed casa was by far the nicest. The rooms form a small apartment above the main house so there is a nice double bedroom and a sofabed + kitchen area (the only time in Cuba we had access to a kitchen). There are plenty of fans in the bedroom. The highlights were the fantastic breakfasts on the gorgeous, shady terrace (complete with hammock and grapevine and a view of the street and palm-trees) which you have to yourself. You also have your own entrance to the house. Marga and Bernardo are charming and so kind and welcoming towards us. We hope we will stay with them again one day!
How was your room?: Lovely - clean, comfortable, brightly decorated, plenty of fans. It was cleaned every day.
How was the food they offer?: Breakfasts were fantastic - a huge spread of eggs, bread, fresh fruit juice, coffee, tea, wonderful pastries or flan, salad, fresh fruit and possibly some other things I can no longer remember!
Other services they offer: Marga speaks English and many other languages. They have a lovely big book of trips, restaurant recommendations, etc, and will help you organise whatever you need.


July 20 2016
Name: Tom
Country: UK

Spanish lessons In Trinidad arranged by Casa El Tulipan

I've had a fantastic 2 weeks in Trinidad and am very sad to leave, having made some
great friends and memories.

Spanish classes with Carmen were a success and have rekindled my motivation
to improve my Spanish when I go back to work. Besides grammar, vocabulary
and conjugations I learnt much about the history and economy of Cuba and
Trinidad in particular. A special highlight was the visit to the Valle de
los Ingenios with Carmen and her husband Hector to see the St Isidro site
and other surviving grand houses.

I very much enjoyed my stay with Yusimi, the hostel was very clean, had
everything I needed and Yusimi herself was very friendly and responsive to
my requests. Her cooking is fantastic and she is very generous with
portions. She was also helpful in arranging activities; the afternoon spent
on horseback in the mountains was one of the best of my stay.

Finally a big thanks to yourself for helping to arrange all this, especially
as it was rather last minute! As mentioned, I had a great time, meeting all
sorts of friendly people, improving my Spanish and learning more about Cuba.
I'll definitely recommend Cuba Junky to my friends who want to visit and
hopefully I'll be back myself soon!

Kind regards,
Tom


uly 6 2016
Name: Esther
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 06/20/2016
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Wij hebben ontzettend genoten van ons verblijf in Casa El Tulipan.
Leuk om het echte Cuba te leren kennen door de fantastische tips die Marga en Bernardo kunnen geven. Trinidad is naast Havana een stad die het bezoeken meer dan waard is en wat is nou lekkerder dan op je eigen dakterras met een Cuba Libre en een sigaar van het leven te kunnen genieten?!
Zeer ruim appartement met eigen ingang. Je hebt een eigen keukentje met woonkamertje, goede badkamer, het appartement is ontzettend schoon en je krijgt naast alle goede zorgen van Marga en Bernardo ook een fantastisch ontbijt (heerlijk fruit, eieren, brood, sap, koffie, vleeswaren, salade en een heerlijke flan: het ontbreekt aan niets!).
Het appartement ligt daarnaast op loopafstand (5 minuten) van het historisch centrum met alle mooie bezienswaardigheden. De buurt is prima waardoor je ook nog in de late uurtjes goed vanuit het centrum naar het appartement terug kan lopen. Het is ook geen probleem om met een huurauto te overnachten: de buurman past graag op de auto!
Kortom, dit appartement is van alle gemakken voorzien en echt een aanrader, een heerlijk appartement op een fantastische plek!


June 6 2016
Name: Doris and Bradford Nicholson
Country: Germany
I stayed here at: 05/06/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: We spend 7 nights at Casa El Tulipan in May.
The apartment was very spacious and clean and the terrace is just wonderful.
We were ery happy to be able to cook our meals in the well equipped kitchen ( Bradford is vegetatian and loves fish).
How was your room?: The bedroom,livingroom ,bathroom and kitchen are spacious and clean.There is a lot of privacy because of the separate entrance.
How was the food they offer?: The breakfast was very delicious and plentiful.
Other services they offer: Marga and Bernardo helped us to find transport to our next destination and kindly answered all our questions about Trinidad and Cuba.
Other comments: we can highly recommend Casa El Tulipan and we will surely come back there on our next trip to Cuba


June 6 2016
Name: Lauren
Country: Australia
I stayed here at: 05/27/2016
I made reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan Trinidad

My review: What a great casa! You have the whole top floor to yourself, with a terrace that overlooks the street. It's about a 5 minute easy walk to the heart of Trinidad, which is great as you can see the local neighbourhoods and not just the tourist areas. Mara and Bernardo are also really nice, helpful and speak perfect English. We loved our stay here!
How was your room?: The room is very comfortable with a separate lounge and cooking area, fridge, aircon, fans, tv and private bathroom.
How was the food they offer?: DELICIOUS breakfast offered on the terrace!
Other services they offer: Can help to arrange taxis and tours, have helpful information about recommended restaurants
Other comments: It can be a little noisy in the mornings due to a few trucks or horse and carts, but not a big deal. Mara pre-warned us to bring earplugs if we wanted.


May 10 2016
Name: Adam Barnes
Country: Spain
I stayed here at: 04/23/2016
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 40 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan Trinidad

My review: Marga and Bernardo are two of the most welcoming people we had the good chance to meet in Cuba. The casa was divided into two, their living quarters downstairs and a replica upstairs with a terrace for us. There was a bedroom and bathroom, small kitchen with stocked fridge included, and the wonderful aforementioned terrace, where we had breakfast each morning and where we could also relax in the hammock.
The casa was clean, had both fans and air conditioning, comfortable and above all welcoming. Marga and Bernardo very kindly offered to help us with anything related with getting to know Trinidad, and we had the good luck in being able to share some of their experiences of Cuba too.
Trinidad is a small but enchanting place, and our experience with Marga and Bernardo was a main reason in why we enjoyed it so much. We would go back tomorrow if we could.
How was your room?: More a small apartment, it had everything we needed and was comfortable. Trinidad is a town with lots of hustle and bustle, and that means there is movement at all hours, but the room was just what we wanted.
How was the food they offer?: The breakfast was fresh and tasty every day. Fruit, eggs, bread with cheese and ham, coffee and a wonderful homemade "flan" (a type of desert/ cake). Given the long hours we were out and about, a big breakfast was a great way to start the day. They also helped us find restaurants for evening meals.
Other services they offer: They helped us organize a taxi from Habana and to the Cayos. Very efficient.
Other comments: We'd like to repeat again the value of the warmth and care that Marga and Bernardo showed us, it really made our trip to Trinidad that bit more special.


April 28 2016
Name: Victoria Catliff
Country: UK
I stayed here at: 04/07/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: We drove around Cuba for two weeks, staying exclusively in Casas Particulares. Nowhere did we encounter such hospitality as at El Tulipan, hosted by Bernado and Marga. Although the amenities at El Tulipan were above the norm (layout, decor, storage space and attention to detail of the independent apartment), it is the hosts who really make the difference. They could not have done more to make our stay the best in Cuba - so kind and welcoming and available to help and talk to us but respectful of our privacy. Breakfast is served on the wonderful, sunny terrace at the time of your choice and is wholesome and plentiful. It is an oasis of tranquility but bear in mind that the house is on a very busy road, which could bother light sleepers. There is one double bed and a sofa bed in another room, so perfect for three. The casa is so popular that it was not available for our whole stay in Trinidad and so Marga arranged for us to move to another excellent Casa, El Caribe (also reviewed) - Bernado even drove our son there on his motorbike!
How was your room?: Comfortable with some storage space for luggage
How was the food they offer?: Breakfast is delicious
Other services they offer: Any services you could need; manicure for ladies!


March 24 2016
Name: Joe Burns
Country: England
I stayed here at: 03/09/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan, Trinidad Cuba

My review: We stayed in El Tulipan in March 2016 to celebrate my wife's birthday and Maja & Bernardo made us very welcome in their home.

The spacious upper floor accommodation is like being home from home, with a kitchen, lounge, bedroom & bathroom plus a large outside terrace with a table, chairs and a hammock, all provided with plenty of shade if needed.

We loved relaxing on the terrace after a busy day around town and especially enjoyed watching the vibrant Cuban street life below.

Because the Casa is situated on a main street it can be noisy, especially in the mornings but the quality of the accommodation more than makes up for this.

A delicious breakfast was brought up to the terrace each morning, which set you up for the day ahead. Maja - as a very good English speaker - was able to give us plenty of advice and tips on Trinidad and tours, especially a trip to the mountains. Both Maja and Bernardo were available at any time to offer help and to arrange day trips etc. Lovely hosts - lovely couple.

We spent four nights at El Tulipan and highly recommend this Casa.

How was your room?: Excellent
How was the food they offer?: Excellent, plentyful


March 21 2016
Name: Jeroen & Tara
Country: Netherlands
I stayed here at: 02/04/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: This case was one of our best casa's in Cuba. The casa was spacious and clean. You even have your own terrace. Bernardo and Margo are very friendly people and really try to make your stay as best as possible.
Because they have one room it's good to make a reservation in advance
How was your room?: Really clean and spacious. You even have a seperate living room and kitchen
How was the food they offer?: The breakfast was one of the best we had. Besides the eggs, bread and fresh juice, we have got fresh tomatos with (home made!) pesto & good ham and feta cheese.
Other services they offer: The offer a lot of activities and recommend good places to have dinner
Other comments: I would really recommend everyone to stay here!


Casa El Tulipan in Trinidad CubaMarch 12 2016
Name: Stan and Natasha
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 02/18/2016
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: If you’re looking for comfortable, attractive, friendly and excellent privacy, this 2nd fl self-contained apartment with a terrace view onto the magic streets of Trinidad is it! Our amazing breakfast was served daily (at our ‘late’ chosen time) along with a chat about how we’re doing, what else we might need help with, and anything else that they could do for us.

Casa El Tulipan in Trinidad CubaHow was your room?: The bonus to this complete 1 bdrm apartment (all tastefully decorated in cheerful colours and numerous tulip motifs) is the fully-furnished open terrace with a thatched canopy to protect you from the mid-day sun, plus a hammock!

How was the food they offer?: Marga & Bernardo serve breakfast with the best of Cuban ingredients, extremely tasty and most generous portions!

Other services they offer: Whatever your questions, they have the time to answer … directions, restaurants, music, taxis or tours and generally inform you of all that is fun and interesting to do in Trinidad! If you're a Cuban music lover, you won't have enough days or nights; our recommendation for minimum stay is 3 nights!

 

Casa El Tulipan in Trinidad CubaOther comments: Traveller's caution: At this stage in Cuba, debit cards are not an option, only cash withdrawals on 'non-American' credit cards! (They of course love U.S. $'s!
The day after we arrived at El Tulipan, we discovered to our horror that we were unable to obtain cash withdrawals through our credit cards at the international bank (our fault, not the bank's). Marga and Bernardo went above and beyond the call of duty in not only eventually providing a solution (it took five days for the wheels to turn, but it worked), but also providing a good bit of 'psychotherapy along the way, always assuring us that everything would be OK and encouraging us to forget our cares and simply enjoy this beautiful city. They even offered to lend us money if we were really strapped (thankfully, this was not necessary) and while waiting for $'s to arrive, they also found us the extra two nights accomo at another comfy casa across the street!
M & B, you were the Ultimate Hosts offering such a classy & cozy home-away-from-home! On top of that, the love that you each have for each other and for Trinidad, is not only a reflection of Everyone in Trinidad (& Havana!), but a continual reminder to us of the Beauty and Uniqueness of Cuban people!
We can't wait to book a return visit!


March 7 2016
Name: Jane
Country: United Kingdom
I stayed here at: 02/26/2016
I made a reservation through Cuba-Junky
I paid 35 CUC per night and 5CUC for breakfast each

Casa El Tulipan

My review: Marga and Bernardo are the perfect hosts, so obliging and helpful.We spent three nights in Trinidad at their casa.Very generous breakfast on the terrace each morning.We give 4 stars rather than five only because of the street noises, but it wasn't really a problem.
How was your room?: Very good
How was the food they offer?: Excellent
Other services they offer: Happy to arrange trips, taxis, onward accommodation and answer any questions you may have.
Other comments: Accommodation is not just a room it is a small apartment with sitting room, bathroom, bedroom, kitchen area and terrace.


Feb 25 2016
Name: eero pulkkinen
Country: finland
I stayed here at: 01/12/2016
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC plus breakfast

El Tulipan

My review: Sometimes you end up in a place where you feel instantly at home. From
the first moment you just know you are among friends.
Marga and Bernardo are there for you if you need help or advice. They also understand if you need some privacy. You can´t have better hosts.
And Marga speaks perfect English, too.
The apartment has two small rooms (aircon) and a bathroom with hot water. It was clean and big enough for us: 2 adults and 2 children (10 and 7). But the best is the balcony: it´s huge. And from the balcony you
can watch the world go by. This apartment is on the second floor with own entrance so it is very private. Marga and Bernando live on the first floor.
Breakfast was amazing. Fresh pressed orange juice, fruits, eggs, ham, cheese, bread, you name it. The best was yoghurt with fresh coconut and honey.
Location is perfect. It´s very near the old town. Just a few minutes walk to the restaurants and cafes.
Overall we could not have picked a better place.
If you are a light sleeper bring you own ear plugs because of the traffic noise although it did not bother us.
For the money you just can´t pick a better place.
Would definitely go back. Thank you so much Marga and Bernardo!
How was your room?: Clean, comfy and big enough for 4 of us
How was the food they offer?: Excellent breakfast: fresh and tasty
Other services they offer: We did not use any
Other comments: Very friendly, Marga speaks fluent English


Casa El Tulipan in Trinidad Cuba Feb 14 2016
Name: lesley howe
Country: United Kingdom
I stayed here at: 01/21/2016
I paid 35cuc plus breakfast 5 cuc

Casa El Tulipan

My review: The Casa is themed around Tulips - with attention to detail everywhere - from the shower curtain to wall art. It is beautiful and well designed with plenty of space and storage for clothes. Everything you need - water, wine beer in the fridge, maps and books, restaurant suggestions, and an umbrella too. I loved the spiral staircase and private terrace with its palm leaf roof and hammock. The break fast was gorgeous and plentiful using the traditional pottery too: fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, meats and a delicious cake with good coffee and juice.

 

Casa El Tulipan in Trinidad CubaThe welcome in the evening was warm and sincere with an immediate Rum. The lamps and wall lights were on and made the apartment very attractive. Always helpful, a lovely couple- Marga and Bernardo, I felt I left having made new friends. I could go on, but as a former consultant in Tourism, I know what works - this place gets it right. The only minor issue can be the traffic noise first thing - well horses and carts, tractors etc but its a working town and you soon get used to the tune of Trinidad life.

How was your room?: lovely. Clean. Attention to detail. Bedroom, lounge, kitchen and bathroom.

How was the food they offer?: Break fast excellent

Other services they offer: All help! Taxi, restaurant suggestions- anything needed.

Other comments: Relaxation and enjoyment is their aim!


Jan 4 2016
Name: Evelien
Country: The Netherlands
I stayed here at: 12/01/2015
I made a reservation at the casa directly
I paid 35 CUC per night

Casa El Tulipan

My review: El Tulipan is a perfect place to stay in Cuba! We spend 3 nights here and it really felt like we had our own Cuban home for a few days. The casa is just a few minutes from the city-center of Trinidad, a nice walk to see the Cuban and Trinidad way of life. We enjoyed the nice rooftop terrace to relax, read and have some drinks. The perfect spot to see the Trinidad way of living!

Marga & Bernardo were great hosts, so friendly and always smiling! The breakfast was the best we had in Cuba :) They helped us with daytrips, a taxi, etc. Always there to help and have a small talk.

We will definitely recommend this casa to everybody travelling to Cuba!

How was your room?: Room? It was an apartment! Spacious, comfortable bed and bathroom. We really enjoyed the big rooftop terrace (including the hammock)!

How was the food they offer?: Delicious! Especially the cheese and tomatoes with olives/pesto.

Other services they offer: Very helpful in offering all kind of information (daytrips, restaurants, taxi, etc)


 

 

CASAS IN CUBA

Havana Province

- Havana city (overview of city areas)

Habana Vieja (Old Havana)

Centro Havana

Havana Vedado

Havana Miramar and Havana Playa

Havana Beach

Havana Other areas

Matanzas Province

Matanzas city

Varadero

Cardenas

Playa Larga

Santa Maria

Boca de Camarioca

Colon

Pinar del Rio Province

Pinar del Rio city

Vinales

Bahia Honda

Candelaria

Soroa

Puerto Esperanza

Santa Lucia

La Palma

Cienfuegos Province

Cienfuegos city

Sancti Spiritus Province

Sancti Spiritus city

Trinidad

La Boca

Casilda

Villa Clara Province

Santa Clara

Remedios

Camaguey Province

Camaguey city

Florida

Guaimaro

Santa Lucia

Las Tunas Province

Las Tunas city

Puerto Padre

Ciego de Avila Province

Ciego de Avila city

Moron

Santiago de Cuba Province

Santiago de Cuba city

Holguin Province

Holguin city

Holguin beach

Mayari

Granma Province

Bayamo

Manzanillo

Marea del Portillo

Pilon

Guantanamo Province

Baracoa

Guantanamo city

 

 

 

Cuba destinations Cuba casas particulares
Cuba flights Cuba car rental

 

Cuba Junky Zazzle Store
Cuba Casa Directory app

 

Cuba-Junky Facebook Cuba-Junky Twitter Cuba-Junky Pinterest

 

About Cuba Junky Write a review
Add a casa particular Havana Journal

 

 

©Cuba-Junky | KvK / CC The Hague The Netherlands: 27315058