cuba > cuba destinations > matanzas province > matanzas > matanzas casa particular> casa la villa sonada > villa sonada reviews 2011

Cuba Junky Home

 
 

Reviews Villa Sonada 2010 and older

 

 

August 20 2011
Name: edgar rivera
Country: canada
I stayed here at: 8/14/2011

villa sonada

My review: really nice place,clean,close to lots of place in dt,great food,the owner are favolous very friendly help for my trip... i have a fantastic time there, for shure a come back there again..

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Colonial, Cozy, Hidden gem, Romantic, Charming, Beautiful, Safe, Garden, Pets in the house, Patio
Amenities: Internet, Parking service, TV, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Extra bed available, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: nice and clean whith good air conditioner
How was the food they offer?: really good, i have lofster and sea food, the price was so cheap
Other services they offer: good help for my trip,gime lots of place to go


June 15 2011
Name: Debbie Van der Steen
Country: Belgium
I stayed here at: 12/04/2011

La Villa Sonada

My review: As Belgian tourists we wanted to make a stop in the charming town of Matanzas. We preferred to stay in this place then to sleep in the very touristic area of Varadero. Matanzas was ones a very known and rich city. Now it is a sleep, but ever so charming. We were tipped by Leo to go and stay at La Villa Sonada, a house with studio from the warm and entertaining host Armando. The room he rents is basic. It has a fridge, a bath, toilet, radio, kitchenette but no windows. The roofterrace where Armando serves you're dinner makes everything right. Our host really likes to spoil his guest with music, nice food and atmosfeer.Our latenight talks and his tips and trics to discover Cuba really helped us to understand and enjoy this country.
A tip: ask Armando to make you ' Ropa Vieja', a typical plate with meat, tomatoes and olives! Delicious!

Debbie and Wim
Gent, Belgium

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable
Amenities: Safety box, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with tub


March 19 2011
Name: Jrgen Steiner
Country: Austria
I stayed here at: 12/27/2010

Villa Sonada

Review

Matanzas was our first stop in Cuba and La Villa Sonada was the first place we stayed in. Mandy is a truly nice and helpful person. We spent two nights with him at the beginning of our trip. He works very hard for our breakfast and dinner. He helps us to find some other good Casa adresses for other nights in Cuba. He and his family are really great cookers, the food was really delicious.
Thanke you Armando for your perfect help!!!

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Colonial, Hidden gem, Safe, Pets in the house
Amenities: Private entrance, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: The room was clean.
How was the food they offer?: It was really delicious, the best lobster in Cuba!!!
Other services they offer: Mandy can recommend casas in other cities and will even write a note of introduction and make reservations. He's also very helpful with travel planning and arrangements.
Other comments: It is the perfect Casa to start a Cubatrip!!!


March 8 2011
Name: Gregory
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 02/05/2011

La Villa Sonada

Review

Matanzas was our first stop on a three-week trip around Cuba and La Villa Sonada was the first place we stayed in. Mandy is a truly gracious, calm, helpful, and generous host. We felt spoiled rotten as he set a high standard for casas for us right off the get-go. We spent three nights with him at the beginning of our trip and one night prior to departure. He works very hard to ensure the needs of his guests are entirely looked after.

To illustrate the kind of person he is...he noticed from my passport that my birthday was coming up during our stay in Cuba. Though I didn't spend the actual day in Mantanzas, when we returned for our final night in Cuba before heading home, immediately upon our arrival he wished me Happy Belated Birthday and pulled a chilled bottle of sparkling Spanish white wine from the fridge! I was truly touched by his gesture. We were also spoiled by his excellent meals. Mandy and crew are amazing chefs. We were treated to more than we could eat multi-course breakfasts and dinners. The dinners were top-notch--tasty, highly creative, with several courses, including soups, breads, salads, appetizers, mains (lobster, pork chops, chicken, traditional excellent ropa vieja), and desserts. Mandy also has a great sense of humour and hanging out on his spacious plant-filled rooftop terrace is an added bonus.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Elegant, Comfortable, Cozy, Roomy, Charming, Beautiful, Safe, Patio
Amenities: Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Balcony, Ceiling fan, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Spacious, clean, and comfortable.
How was the food they offer?: Absolutely incredible.
Other services they offer: Mandy can recommend casas in other cities and will even write a note of introduction and make reservations. He's also very helpful with travel planning and arrangements.
Other comments: I can't say enough to encourage everyone to stay here! Forget the Varadero all inclusives and instead head to Matanzas and La Villa Sonada.


February 28 2011
Name: Vittoria Boccarsi
Country: Belgium
I stayed here at: 12/16/2010

La Villa Sonada

Review

We are a couple of Italians, working and living in Belgium. We traveled for 35 days in Cuba, landing and taking off from Varadero Airport.

We wanted to have soon a first insight of the real life in Cuba and we chose to stay for the fist 4 days at La Villa Sonada in Matanzas, also because of the excellent reviews we had read.

We felt there so well that we can only confirm all the excellent comments about La Villa Sonada and its owner Armando (Mandy). We returned for other 2 days at Mandy's house at the end of our trip and we left as good friends.

Armando made us feeling at home. He helped us in getting oriented and assisted us from distance throughout our journey. He also gave us very good addresses of other casas particulares in Cuba,especially in Vinales.

'La Villa Sonada' is a very pleasant place,cool and clean and with a lot of green. There are beautiful plants inside the Casa and on the Roof Terrace and you can feel thay have grown up with love.

Breakfast is wonderful, with plenty of fresh fruit of different kinds, fresh juice, delicious cafe', fresh omelettes and more. The food is healthy, delicious, well assorted and Armando serves it with grace.

Armando also has a good collection of music of various countries and we were pleasantly surprised to listen to excellent pieces of good Italian music,very rare to find abroad.

Armando is both a professional of the alternative tourism in 'casas particulares' and a very human and generous person. The staff of 'La Villa Sonada' is also nice and professional.

La Villa Sonada is definitely a place to recommend.

Vittoria and Enrico

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Colonial, Romantic, Charming, Beautiful, Safe, Garden
Amenities: Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Very clean, with air conditioning. With music and flowers.
How was the food they offer?: Delicious, copious, healthy.
Other services they offer: Assistance in getting oriented in Matanzas and surroundings, good addresses for other places in Cuba
Other comments: La Villa Sonada is definitely a place to recommend.


February 19 2011
Name: Leandro
Country: Brasil
I stayed here at: 2/5/2011

Villa Sonada

Review

The Casa is really nice. Just 3 blocks from one of the main squares of the city (Plaza de la Libertad). My room was good, clean with a/c or fan.
Every night i ate dinner at the casa and the food was good! They are really good cookers!
Mandy, the owner, can help you out with anything you need about the city and Cuba.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Beautiful, Safe, Pets in the house
Amenities: TV, Airconditioning, Laundry service, Ceiling fan, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Excellent
How was the food they offer?: Very good! Fresh!


February 13 2011
Name: Mick and Hazel Morris
Country: france
I stayed here at: 01/16/2011

Villa Sonada, Matanzas

Review

An excellent starting point for people like us who knew nothing of Cuba, and were a little unsure about travel and accommodation. Armando was the perfect host and could not have been more helpful about many aspects of our trip and of Cuba.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Hidden gem, Charming, Safe, Patio
Amenities:
How was your room?: Ask for the little room at the back; it is self contained, the other room is OK.
How was the food they offer?: Excellent
Other services they offer: Armand gave us a card for a casa in every town we wished to visit, plus a letter of introduction


February 8 2011
Name: Brandon Scott
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 01/24/2011

La Villa Sonada

Review

We had a most enjoyable stay at this Casa. The host Mandy, was welcoming and friendly. He has a good grasp of english, and is most helpful where ever possible. Mandy was able to suggest things to do, prices you should expect to pay, and assist in booking other Casas. La Villa Sonada is clean and cozy, with a wonderful roof-top terrace with tropical plants. Meals are more than ample and full of flavor.

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Cozy, Safe, Garden, Pets in the house, Patio
Amenities: Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Laundry service, Balcony, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Queensize bed, Extra bed available, Bathroom with tub, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: La Villa Sonada offers 2 rooms to stay in.
One is a self contained suite with mini kitchen, sitting area, private bathroom with tub, and an upper sleeping area for 2-3 adults. I also noticed a playpen for toddlers in the room.
The second room has a single and double bed, which where the most comfortable beds we slept on in Cuba. This room has access to the main bathroom across the hall which has a shower.
How was the food they offer?: The food was always flavourful and in most generous portions.
Breakfast generally came with coffee, freshly made orange juice, fresh fruit, pastry, eggs, cheese and breakfast meat.
Suppers start with a soup that is a meal unto it's self.
The meal follows with tasty meat dishes, rice, veggies, salad, bread.
Bring a big appitite.
Other services they offer: La Villa Sonada bosts a topical roof-top terrace. Relax in the sun with complete privacy while sipping drinks and playing cards. In the evening have a meal while the sun sets in warm hues. A great hidden gem in Matanzas
Other comments: The host Mandy will make your stay most memorable. He is kind, friendly and most willing to assist where possible. He speaks English quite well. Mandy is obviously known and respected in the area. One would be hard pressed to find a better host.


February 8 2011
Name: Vincent Herner
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 02/05/2011

La Villa Sonada

Review

Our host Mandy was extremely hospitable in providing for all our needs. He was very helpful in arranging and confirming our reservations during our two week stay in Cuba. He is very knowledgeable about travel options.

The meals provided were amazing in options,quantity and quality. It felt very much like home and were pleased to begin and end our Cuban stay at La Villa Sonada.

Casa specifics: Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Safe, Pets in the house, Patio
Amenities: Airconditioning, Laundry service, Balcony, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Extra bed available, Bathroom with tub, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: There are two rooms, one with a private bathroom, and the other shares the house bathroom. The beds were the most comfortable we slept in. The rooms have locks on the door for security.
How was the food they offer?: Two plentiful meals available every day.
Other services they offer: The roof top terrace was an excellent place to observe life and have dinner.
Other comments: Mandy is a gracious and professional host.

 


December 26 2010
Name: G. Pol
Country: Netherlands
I stayed here at: 11/13/2010

Casa La Villa Sonada

Review

A very nice casa with a very friendly owner! Armando will help you with any thing you like; gives advice about your trip in Cuba and can help you with finding other casas in all the different cities. The food is delicious and the rooftop terrace gives a nice view over Matanzas. A perfect stay and a warm welcome to Cuba.

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfortable, Colonial, Cozy, Safe, Garden, Patio
Amenities: Parking service, Safety box, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Garden, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Bathroom with tub, Bathroom with shower
How was your room?: Nice room, with little kitchen downstairs and a seperate toilet and bath/shower.
How was the food they offer?: Armando makes very delicious lobster and the breakfast was perfect too.
Other comments: They have two funny birds at the rooftop terrace.


March 31 2010
Name: Lothar Bröker
Country: Germany
I stayed there at (date): 17.3.2010 -024.03.2010

Villa Sonada Matanzas

Review

Eine wunderbare Casa mit sehr freundlichen und hilfsbereiten Menschen in einer ruhigen Gegend gelegen.  Trotzdem waren es zum Zentrum nur 5 Gehminuten.
Diese Casa können wir uneingeschränkt empfehlen.

Casa style: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfertable, Colonial, Cozy, Charming, Beautiful,
Amenities: Parking service, TV, In room safety box, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Minibar, Garden, Ceiling fan
How was your room?: Der Raum war gut mit  Bad/Toilette und wie die gesamte Casa sehr sauber.
How was the food the offer?: Das Essen -wechselhaftes Frühstück mit viel Obst, frisch gepressten Orangensaft, Eier, Käse, Schinken, Brötchen, BUtter, Kaffee oder Tee 4 CUC/ abends Dinner nach Wunsch immer mit Vorsuppe, Salat und Fisch oder Fleisch, Reis, Bohnen und Kartoffeln 8 CUC-  war wunderbar, vielseitig, wechselhaft und mehr als ausreichend. Das besten Essen während unserer 3 wöchigen Cubatour.
Other services they offer: Unser Mietwagen wurde vom Armando - dem Eigentümer - jeden abend zu einem sicheren Stellplatz gefahren, obwohl uns das nicht notwendig erschien.
Other comments: Von dort aus konnten wir gute Touren mit dem Mietwagen Richtung Varadero und Havanne machen und haben so schöne, ruhige Strände gefunden.


March 19 2010
Name: Alain Cote
Country: Canada
I stayed there at (date): february 22 2010 to february 28

Casa Villa Sonada

Review

Casa is Excellent Owner is Super Service is 5 stars Room is 5 stars
5 stars all the way

Casa style: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Elegant, Comfertable, Colonial, Cozy, Roomy, Beautiful, Safe
Amenities: Internet, TV, In room safety box, Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Laundry service, Ceiling fan
How was your room?: Five stars
How was the food the offer?: Five stars
Other services they offer: Five stars
Other comments: everythings are five stars

* Photos


February 6 2010
Name: Sonja Lercange
I stayed there at (date): 17/1/2010

Casa La Villa Sonada

Review
 
Excellent stay at 15 minutes from the airport of Varadero.
Enjoy  the fine meals and daiquiris (the best I drank in Cuba!) of the owner Mandy. He is most kind and will make you feel at home in every way. Villa sonada is very cozy and well decorated and is situated in a non tourist district close to the Centre of Matanzas. Ideal  for total  immersing in Cuba. Do not skip the walk to the Mirador de Monserrate. The scenery is very beautiful.

Casa style: Fantastic hosts, Elegant, Comfertable, Cozy, Roomy, Romantic, Charming,
How was your room?: excellent charming cozy
How was the food the offer?: superb
Other services they offer: the best daiquiri of cuba
Other comments: VERY friendly


Date: 28-04-2009
Author: Georg and Barbara
Country: Canada

Casa La Villa Sonada

Review

We traveled 2 weeks through Cuba which was very exciting and challenging for us and we learned a lot about country and people. 
The visit in Armando's Villa Sonada and his friendliness remains as something very special. We were thinking of the fantastic dinners every day of the trip and can assure you that no meal was to be found anywhere with the quality of his. Armando took care of us with information concerning our travel. His house was not only safe, but also very welcoming and you get a feel of the real life in Cuba, away from the tourist resorts. We can highly recommend La Villa Sonada and look forward to a return.


Date: 18-04-2009
Author: Nancy
Country: Canada

Casa La Villa Sonada

Review

I recently visited La Villa Sonada. It was a really good experience. The house is very attractive, clean and safe. The meals are delicious - the best food I had in Cuba. I enjoyed huge meals of fresh lobster and fish, served with beautifully cooked vegetables on the lovely rooftop deck. Armando, the host, is charming and very knowledgeable. He speaks English and is extremely helpful. Matanzas is an interesting Cuban town with plenty to see. I look forward to returning.


Date: 07-10-2008
Author: Chad V.
Country: Canada

Casa La Villa Sonada

Review

Whenever I visit Cuba, I make a point of stay at La Villa Sonada, the reason is that Mandy is one of the greatest host in a quiet, relaxing and picturesque city. The room that Mandy rents out has style, always clean and has a great air conditioner for those scorching hot days. The biggest compliment yet would have to be on the meals provided at the house, if you’re a Cuban regular you understand food in Cuba lacks spices and/or taste but at Mandy’s the food is out of this world. The food is diverse, inexpensive and you’ll be presented with more than you can eat. If there’s anything in particular you need or want simply ask and Mandy will try to find it for you. I also know he serves a great vegetarian menu with fresh fruits and vegetables from the local market. The house also has a great roof top patio where you can just sit and have a drink or catch up on a great book while getting a tan. When I stay at the house I barely see Mandy but if you call his name he’ll seem to pop out of nowhere, ready to help or answer your questions or help you with your vacation. Mandy is a great resource guide not only of Matanzas but also has friends in other cities willing to help you out. Mandy understands and practices great customer service and that is why I will always return. I’ll give another report when I return from my third trip in less than 2 years.


Date: 17-09-2008 09:37:55 PM
Author: Lucy
Country: italy

Casa La Villa Sonada

Review

Ciao a tutti. A giugno 2008 sono stata in vacanza a Cuba, precisamente a Matanzas in una bellissima casa particular che si chiama Villa sonada. La casa era davvero molto bella. in stile coloniale, situata nel centro della città. Il servizio offerto era incredibile, la casa aveva una splendida terrazza e le stanze erano munite di aria condizionata con bagno indipendente. Si mangiava molto bene ed il proprietario Mandy è una persona molto gentile e sempre pronto ad aiutare i turisti . Mi sono trovata benissimo e la consiglio a tutti. Se andate a Matanzas, scegliete Villa Soniada, vi troverete davvero benissimo. Lucy


Date: 17-09-2008
Author: Michelle & Ed
Country: Canada

Casa La Villa Sonada

Review

My husband and I stayed three nights. We were thoroughly impressed with the cleanliness, the delightful ambiance, the safety of our belongings, and the graciousness of our host, Mandy. Mandy prepared the most outstanding and generous breakfasts for us each morning. And in the evening, we dined on his rooftop terrace surrounded by his lush garden of tropical plants. We ate the most delicious, healthy and very moderately priced meals during our entire stay in Cuba. Mandy served our meals and drinks in his most gracious manner. Mandy was also very helpful with making arrangements for our transportation to the train station. A stay at his Casa is an absolute must while in Matanzas. His location is excellent for visiting the local sights. We look forward to our return visit. Michele and Ed from Canada


Date: 12-09-2008
Author: Yves Lebrec
Country: France

Casa La Villa Sonada

Review

La villa sonada est vraiment unbeau lieu de villégiature avec toutes le commodités, dans cette maison coloniale le temps c'est arrêté. Rien à redire non plus sur la propreté et vous apprécierai le propriétaire homme jovial et sympathique, se met en quatre pour vous aider. Vraiment une très belle location et d'excellentes prestations


Date: 10-09-2008
Author: Lutz Richter
Country: Germany

Casa La Villa Sonada

Review

Hallo! Diesen Sommer war ich das zweite Mal-diesmal mit meiner Frau-zu Gast in der Villa Sonada.Ich lebe unter "normalen"Umständen,aber meine Frau ist "akribisch deutsch",vor allem was Sauberkeit und freundlichen Service angeht.So kann ich die Villa Sonada in Matanzas nur empfehlen,man kann sich dort wie "zu Hause" fühlen,ausgezeichnete Sauberkeit und Hygiene,wohlschmeckendes Essen, auf Wunsch kreolisch oder nach eigenem Geschmack in appetitlicher Präsentation,zum Kerzenschein auf der weiträumigen Dachterrasse;ein fröhliches Ambiente,in dem die Musik den Alltag vergessen läßt.
Mandy,der freundliche Wirt spricht mehrere Sprachen und kennt sich durch eigene Reisen in Europa aus und kennt die Geschmäcker seiner Gäste.Reisende,kommt ihr nach Matanzas,sucht dieses kleine Hostal (Mit exzellentem Frühstück) auf!
Para Las Personas de Habla Hispana, Solo Puedo Decir Que es Un Exelente Hostal, Donde Podran Sentirse Como En Su Propia Casa. Una Exelente Cena Con Muy Buena Calidad y Presentacion.El Hostal Tiene Una Bella Terraza Donde Se Pueden Disfrutar de Los Servicios que Ofrece Su Anfitrion Mandy, Que Es Una Persona Muy Conocedora de Su Trabajo.Creo En Mis Visitas a Cuba, Siempre Regresare en este Hostal.Lo Recomiendo Con La Seguridad que no Se Arrepentira De Su Eleccion.


Date: 09-09-2008
Author: stephanie rivero
Country: Canada

Casa La Villa Sonada

Review

Hi Everyone,

First of all for those who I do not give deal a lot of news just want to say to you that i am very happy with my life in Canada, I live in Montreal since October and have wonderful life....

Still Flight attendant for Air Transat what allows me to travel often.
talking about trip I would like to share with you my last too short trip unfortunately to Cuba.

Just got back of three days of vacation at Mantanzas small typically Cuban city at 10 minutes of Varadero's airport 
I had chance to stay in an adorable typically Cuban home or I had my own flat with a bedroom in mezzanine tub with hot water what is a luxury in Cuba, independent toilettes there was a corner with a table and fridge.

The landlord Mandy very nice an extraordinary Cuban who has traveled a lot around the world Mandy also speak English and little bit of French, I felt very welcome he is very warm-hearted and every day he knows how to remain discreet....
Ho yes I forget the splendid terrace with incredible view on Mantanzas ....

I could remain in this paradise for only 25 pesos by days 25 dollars Canadian or a little less than 20 euro

It is possible to take the breakfast too abounding everything was on the table there was some juice eggs ham smoked bacon cheese orange cafe milk 
Jam....some fresh bread and i am sure i forget some stuff ho yes Ice Cream and fruits in fact the table was full it was crazy and all of it for only 4 pesos....

and the diner delicious really I wanted to eat some lobster. Mandy went to get it fresh a huge big lobster good to cook a truth delice there were on the table seafood soup as a starter the food on the table was for ten we were only two it was crazy and so good tasty some red beans rice salad Cuban typical Yuca French fries also and i am sure i forget some food that was there too.
rice pudding desert or ice cream ....the diner was only 10 pesos 

I rent a scooter be able to go Varadero and anywhere i wanted it was just 24 pesos for 24 hours. 

I done some horseback riding too for only 20 pesos for the all afternoon with or without a guide 
Very good raises horses 

If I share this experience with you and take time to write those lines it is because I really had three extraordinary unbelievable days, 
If a day you d like to go to Cuba and to share the life Cubans to see how these people who have nothing or almost are the most generous people that I met in my life the most homey.... in brief there would be so much to say it was an unconvincing experience and I would like a day you too have the chance to live what i lived there....

I leave you there the address of Mandy this splendid Home where I would go back shortly my next vacation or days off ...

 

 

 

 

 

CASAS IN CUBA

Havana Province

- Havana city (overview of city areas)

Habana Vieja (Old Havana)

Centro Havana

Havana Vedado

Havana Miramar and Havana Playa

Havana Beach

Havana Other areas

Matanzas Province

Matanzas city

Varadero

Cardenas

Playa Larga

Santa Maria

Boca de Camarioca

Colon

Pinar del Rio Province

Pinar del Rio city

Vinales

Bahia Honda

Candelaria

Soroa

Puerto Esperanza

Santa Lucia

La Palma

Cienfuegos Province

Cienfuegos city

Sancti Spiritus Province

Sancti Spiritus city

Trinidad

La Boca

Casilda

Villa Clara Province

Santa Clara

Remedios

Camaguey Province

Camaguey city

Florida

Guaimaro

Santa Lucia

Las Tunas Province

Las Tunas city

Puerto Padre

Ciego de Avila Province

Ciego de Avila city

Moron

Santiago de Cuba Province

Santiago de Cuba city

Holguin Province

Holguin city

Holguin beach

Mayari

Granma Province

Bayamo

Manzanillo

Marea del Portillo

Pilon

Guantanamo Province

Baracoa

Guantanamo city

 

 

 

Cuba destinations Cuba casas particulares
Cuba flights Cuba car rental

 

Cuba-Junky Facebook Cuba-Junky Twitter Cuba-Junky Pinterest

 

About Cuba Junky Add a casa particular

 

©Cuba-Junky | KvK / CC The Hague The Netherlands: 27315058