cuba home > cuba destinations > sancti spiritus > trinidad > trinidad casa particular > casa rogelio > reviews 2011 and older

Cuba Junky Home

Reviews 2011 and older Casa Rogelio Trinidad

March 30 2011
Name: Melanie Maria Diaz Blanco
Country: Germany
I stayed here at: 02/26/2011

Casa Rogelio

Review

This is the best house in all of Trinidad! Super clean, super antique decorated, good kitchen, friendly hosts, excellent beds, quiet, private roof terrace .... a dream!

Casa specifics: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Elegant, Comfortable, Colonial, Roomy, Romantic, Charming, Beautiful, Safe, Patio
Amenities: Airconditioning, Private bathroom, Laundry service, Balcony, Breakfast service, Dinner service, Extra bed available, Bathroom with shower


January 14 2011
Name: Rhonda Kozak
Country: Canada
I stayed here at: 12/14/2010

Casa Rogelio

Review

Beautiful Casa, wonderful and accomodating hosts. We stayed 3 nights with our 2 kids. Rogelio met us at the bus station the night we arrived, and arranged for a taxi the day we left. He recommended a great restaurant down the street from the casa which we went to twice. We also arranged for supper one night at the casa the meal was excellent! We had excellent breakfast every morning and always left full. The rooftop terrace was a special treat enjoyed spending late afternoon early evenings relaxing and watching the sun set. We would definately stay here again, and highly recommend it to others.

Casa specifics: Comfortable, Colonial, Roomy, Beautiful, Safe, Patio
Amenities: Breakfast service, Bathroom with shower


Name: Barbara Stewart and Andre Dubois
Country: Canada

Casa Rogelio Inchauspy

Review

Another enjoyable stay, great location, very helpful hosts....They were up early with good strong coffee and rolls the morning we left early on the bus back to Havana. And like Pablo in Havana, saw that we got reliable taxi service when needed. One evening we had to have supper with them when local restaurant didn't honour our reservation ...The supper was NOT great, I would not recommend taking meals other than breakfast there...and we are NOT fussy, eaters. Four stars.


April 14 2010
Name: Teresa
Country: Ireland
I stayed there at (date): 10 March-15 March2010

Casa Rogelio

Review

Rogelio's casa is a museum ... Rogelio grew up in this casa and it is a real gem ... and above all spacious ... my room, there are 2 huge bedrooms on the upper floor ... was a dream, big antique bed, private balcony ... perfect bathroom ... original wooden floors ... ceiling fan ... and outside my room, also for my use was a sitting/dining room ... a garden terrace with or without shelter and a rooftop terrace ... I stayed in Cuba for one month, traveling alone ... I'm a woman 58 years old and well travelled and this house was blessing to me ... all my needs were met ... Rogelio took care of booking future casas, transportation, money anything I needed, including getting me to the best vet to facilitate saving a dog's life ... as for meals ... breakfast, dinner all perfectly prepared and huge ... just delicious ... and the location is ideal ... within walking distance of everything ... internet cafe, bus, restaurants and cafes ... I really loved it here and believe you will too ... do yourself a favor and stay here ... a destination in it's own ... buenos

Casa style: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Elegant, Comfertable, Colonial, Cozy, Hidden gem, Roomy, Romantic, Charming, Beautiful, Safe
Amenities: Private bathroom, Laundry service, Balcony, Garden, Ceiling fan
How was your room?: HUGE, AIRY, CLEAN...PRIVATE BALCONY, BATH....A DREAM!!!
How was the food the offer?: PLENTIFUL, FRESH...DELICIOUS...SERVED IN A MUSEUM QUALITY DINING ROOM..
Other services they offer: ALL MY NEEDS WERE CATERED TO....THERE WERE NO PROBLEMS WITH ANYTHING I NEEDED...ROGELIO TOOK CARE OF IT AND WITH A SENSE OF HUMOR...
Other comments: GREAT HOST...WITH AWARD WINNING SENSE OF HUMOR...CAN SOLVE ANYTHING...


April 10 2010
Name: leslie
Your country: belgium
I stayed there at (date): beginning of february 2010

Casa Rogelio

Review

Beautiful colonial house, just a few steps away from the Plaza Mayor. Such a friendly couple, very helpful!!! Delicious breakfast & mea in the evening. Huge rooftop terrace with amazing panoramic sunset views... Room is huge too, very clean & comfortable. Would definitely go back! Thank you Rogelio!!

Casa style: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Elegant, Comfertable, Colonial, Cozy, Roomy, Charming, Beautiful, Safe
How was your room?: very spacious & clean! colonial style, very nice!
How was the food the offer?: delicious!

* See Leslie's pictures in the Photo Gallery


March 14 2010
Name: Katy
Country: Canada
I stayed there at (date): Feburary 2010

Casa Rogelio

Review

My husband and I stayed at Casa Rogelio for 3 nights, and it was hands down the best casa particular experience we had the whole trip.  The hosts were wonderful to us and our breakfasts and dinners were fabulous.  Our room was cool and spacious and there was a lovely garden terrace to enjoy as well as the roof top to soak up the Trinidad views.

I'm not sure what "Sickened Family's" expectations were about Cuba, but this is about as good as it gets.  Food was fresh, accommodations were comfortable and hosts speak and understand enough english to communicate necessities.

If we ever go back to Trinidad, we will definitely stay here!

Casa style: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfertable, Colonial, Roomy, Charming, Beautiful, Safe
Amenities: Private bathroom, Laundry service, Balcony, Garden, Ceiling fan


November 2009

Name: Tonnis& Ingrid
Country: Netherlands
I stayed there at (date): oktober 2009

Casa Rogelio

Review

We can say in one word Wonderful!!
After a very long bustrip from Habana, we were happily suprised by the nice comfortable room with all its facilities.
Because of the warm weather it was very nice to have a shower in the rain on the roof-terrace of the Casa! :-) We danced in our swimm-suit, and it rained so heavy it hurts, so we had to leave the rooftop, but it was an amazing expirience.
Rogelio has been very helpful in getting us to Ancon beach!
Of course by Motorcycle, for nothing.
He and his wife did there utmost best to make our stay as pleasant as possible!
We want to thank you for that!
We hope to meet you in the future!
Lot of kisses from Rotterdam, the Netherlands!

Tonnis & Ingrid

Casa style: Quiet, Fantastic hosts, Comfertable, Romantic, Charming, Beautiful,
How was your room?: Superrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr and large!!!!!!!!
How was the food the offer?: We have had an excellent breakfast, and one delicious dinner made by their daughter!


Date: 18-04-2009
Author: Alex
Country: UK

Casa Rogelio

Wow, I can only think that "Sickened Family" (post below) are the sort never to be happy with anything. Please do NOT let their review put you off. The other reviews on here reflected our experience. The house is lovely with loads of charm and is in an excellent location, very close to Plaza Mayor and the Viazul Bus station. We were me at the station by Rogelio, and he had got someone to come along and take our bags on a cart to the house. He was friendly and chatty, and helped us carry our cumbersome and heavy bags up the stairs before offering us a choice of rooms. Sheets and towels were supplied but we did have to put them on the bed - not exactly a difficult job when it's one sheet to lie on and one to cover you! We ate breakfast both days and an evening meal which were all delicious and plentiful. Within about an hour or so of arriving we accidentally broke one of their lamps but both Rogelio and his wife were ok about it and it certainly didn't affect their hospitality towards us. With regards to the door, it was a tricky lock and we also wondered if we had been locked out, but then realized it was something we had done. Rogelio asked us to put an iron bar across the door when we got in so surely if he was going to lock people out he would have done that too? We had a fantastic time at this Casa and I would recommend it to anyone


Date: 27-01-2009
Author: Sickened family
Country: Canada
   

Casa Rogelio

After reading all of these glowing reviews of this casa we were looking forward to a warm, welcoming, and enjoyable stay at this house. Nothing could have been further from the truth: Upon arrival the wife told us she had to leave town and the husband offered us no help; in fact, not only did he not help us negotiate the very steep, narrow, and windy stairs up to the only rooms available to guests, we found that we had to make up our own beds. This was not the worst of it: we all suffered bed bugs for the entire time of our stay with many bites all over us upon waking in the morning! The breakfast his maids made for us was disgusting - the egg "pancake" soaked in oil, the bread stale, the coffee undrinkable, and the table and condiments on the table dirty. After this we never attempted to eat anything at this house again. The owner also tried to charge us more for the room than advertised and agreed to. There was absolutely no sense of feeling welcome in this house; quite the contrary. Toilet paper was not even replenished. We were given a key to get into the house but then the owner double bolted it so that my husband actually had to wake up another neighbor to call the owner, who would not answer the door, to come open the door so he could gain entrance. (We thought the idea was that you were supposed to be able to enjoy the incredible music offered starting late at night and then be able to get back into your accommodations without incident.) As if this were not enough, not only did the wife never appear...which led us all to speculate that things were not right between them because the man was downright unpleasant to the point where he crossed the line into utter rude and even nasty behavior (which I will not go into). What a shame. The town itself is lovely, the music wonderful. We don't know who has written these other reviews that sound so good about this house and that led us to stay there but something is fishy and I wonder if this review will even make it in. 

*Reviews at the Cuba-Junky website are written by former guests, nothing fishy here. I can imagine you are a bit grumpy about your experience but do not react your anger to our honest website please. Regards, CJ www.cuba-junky.com


Date: 02-01-2009
Author: Eva & Peter
Country: Estonia

Casa Rogelio

Casa Rogelio is one of the best casas in Cuba. The house itself is so beautiful, spacious and comfortable. We had the biggest room with our own balcony and bathroom. In addition we were able to use the big terrace at the roof with beautiful views all over Trinidad. Rogelio is an excellent host - he is so helpful and friendly and laid-back. I was very sick at the time we were here and he really took care of me. If You ever plan to visit Trinidad - stay in Casa Rogelio!


Date: 17-09-2008
Author: Joanna and Mark
Country: Australia

Casa Rogelio

We stayed at Casa Rogelio in August 2007 and it was fantastic. Our hosts were lovely and very helpful. The Casa was spotlessly clean and our room was lovely. The roof terrace offered a great view of Trinidad - hopefully we will be back there one day


Date: 28-08-2008
Author: Ludrid & Theo

Casa Rogelio

My boyfriend Theo and I stayed at Rogelio’s place. The owners of the casa particular in Havana “Superabuela”, told us about this nice casa particular in Trinidad and give us the address. At first we thought to go our own way when arriving at Trinidad. But to our surprise senor Rogelio – who we didn’t know was waiting for us at the bus station. There was a crowd of people when arriving at the bus station. Suddenly someone out of the crowd was waving at me. And as everybody would do, I looked around in the bus to see who he was waving to. But he kept on looking at me and Theo. When we get out of the bus, he called us by the name and said that “Havana” called him and asked him to pick us up. We decided to go with him.

Till today I am so glad senor Rogelio picked us up because this is for sure the nicest casa particular we have stayed in. The owners are great and the food –most of the time cooked by their son is delicious. Unfortunately we couldn’t stay for long. We had to go back to The Netherlands because of the sudden death of Theo his grandmother. Rogelio and his wife helped us to get back to Havana. They asked their neighbor to bring us back to Havana for a reasonable price and made reservations for us in Superabuela.

If I think of Cuba, and that often is, I think about Trinidad and in particular of this family and their hospitality, their great house and their warmth. I never had the chance to thank them for all their help. So I am glad I found this site and recognize the room we stayed in and the stairs of the house: we didn’t know the name of the place. At last I have the occasion of thanking them: 
SENOR REGILIO Y SENORA ROGILIO MUCHOS GRACIAS POR TODOS!!

Ludrid & Theo 


Lisa

Casa Rogelio

I stayed here for 2 nights in February 2006. It is a beautiful house with very high ceilings, antique furniture, centrally located but the best part is the amazing roof terrace. You have a view of the whole town with the beautiful mountains in the background, and the Ancon beach for watching the sunset.

Rogelio and his wife are very kind hosts and good cooks as well. One night we ate in a state restaurant instead, which was a HUGE mistake. The casa cooking was much tastier and a better value. Rogelio also speaks a bit of English, which was a huge help.

Our Casa owners in Havana booked a room for us at a different Casa in Trinidad, just a few steps away, at #266. We were told that it is the most beautiful Casa in all of Trinidad and that it is usually booked, but that if it was, she would find us a room at a different Casa. Exhausted from our 5.5 hour bus trip from Havana, we arrived to find that Sara had given our rooms away because we hadn't confirmed -- although we had only made the reservations the day before. My advice to all -- take the early morning bus to Trinidad and make sure you get a room immediately. If you are driving, make sure that you arrive in town very early or keep phoning the Casa to make sure that they don't give your room away. The Lonely Planet book is wrong. There are not enough Casa's in Trinidad, and we were stuck without a place to sleep for our first night. We were on the phone for over an hour, trying to find another place to stay. Then 3 french men arrived with the same problem. The next day, I met two Australians and then a French couple, and they all had the same experience. They all found other Casa's to stay at, but we had to take a taxi to the edge of town and stay at this Delores place in an over-priced cabin, at twice the cost!!

The 2nd day, we got up early and called Rogelio and he held a room for us until we got there. The rest of our time in Trinidad was fantastic. I highly recommend a trip there, but do book ahead, and if you're late arriving, call the Casa to say that you are still coming!

 

 

CASAS IN CUBA

Havana Province

- Havana city (overview of city areas)

Habana Vieja (Old Havana)

Centro Havana

Havana Vedado

Havana Miramar and Havana Playa

Havana Beach

Havana Other areas

Matanzas Province

Matanzas city

Varadero

Cardenas

Playa Larga

Santa Maria

Boca de Camarioca

Colon

Pinar del Rio Province

Pinar del Rio city

Vinales

Bahia Honda

Candelaria

Soroa

Puerto Esperanza

Santa Lucia

La Palma

Cienfuegos Province

Cienfuegos city

Sancti Spiritus Province

Sancti Spiritus city

Trinidad

La Boca

Casilda

Villa Clara Province

Santa Clara

Remedios

Camaguey Province

Camaguey city

Florida

Guaimaro

Santa Lucia

Las Tunas Province

Las Tunas city

Puerto Padre

Ciego de Avila Province

Ciego de Avila city

Moron

Santiago de Cuba Province

Santiago de Cuba city

Holguin Province

Holguin city

Holguin beach

Mayari

Granma Province

Bayamo

Manzanillo

Marea del Portillo

Pilon

Guantanamo Province

Baracoa

Guantanamo city

 

 

 

Cuba destinations Cuba casas particulares
Cuba flights Cuba car rental

 

Cuba-Junky Facebook Cuba-Junky Twitter Cuba-Junky Pinterest

 

About Cuba Junky Add a casa particular

 

©Cuba-Junky | KvK / CC The Hague The Netherlands: 27315058